What each tour includes — and what you pay on the day
The table sets out the verified facts from each product page. Tour prices are live in the table further down; the right-hand column shows what is left to pay once you are on the peninsula.
| Tour |
Duration |
Pickup / boarding |
Vehicle |
Tolls in the price |
Paid on the day |
Cape Point & Boulders full day Kenzi Travel and Tours |
10 h |
See product page |
Not specified |
Road tolls |
Cape of Good Hope + Boulders entry |
Cape of Good Hope & penguins, with pickup Beyond Africa Safaris / Gray Line |
10 h |
Pickup |
Mercedes Sprinter (2025) |
Not listed |
Cape of Good Hope + Boulders entry, funicular |
Cape Point & Boulders by double-decker City Sightseeing South Africa |
8 h |
Set stops, no hotel pickup |
Double-decker bus, Wi-Fi |
Not listed |
Cape of Good Hope + Boulders entry |
Penguins & Cape of Good Hope, with pickup Baz Bus |
10 h |
Pickup |
Not specified |
Road tolls |
Cape of Good Hope + Boulders entry |
Cape Peninsula & Boulders Cape Archives Tours |
9 h |
See product page |
Not specified |
Chapman’s Peak Drive |
Park entry (not listed as included) |
Cape of Good Hope, seals & penguins Excitement Travel and Tours |
10 h |
See product page |
Not specified |
Chapman’s Peak Drive |
Cape of Good Hope + Boulders entry |
Table Mountain, penguins & Cape Point Gray Line South Africa |
10 h |
Pickup |
Not specified |
Not listed |
Cableway, Cape of Good Hope + Boulders entry |
Table Mountain, Cape Point & penguins Excitement Travel and Tours |
10 h |
See product page |
Not specified |
Chapman’s Peak Drive |
Cableway, Cape of Good Hope + Boulders entry |
“Pickup” means the product title names it. “See product page” and “Not specified” mean the product page we checked does not state it clearly — the pickup area, times and vehicle are confirmed there when you book.
The park fees every group tour leaves out
Cape Point lies in the Cape of Good Hope section of Table Mountain National Park, and Boulders Beach is a separate paid area of the same park. Both are run by South African National Parks (SANParks), and both charge a daily conservation fee at the gate. On every group tour on this page, those fees are yours to pay on the day:
| International visitors |
Adult |
Child |
| Cape of Good Hope section (with Cape Point) |
R515 |
R250 |
| Boulders Beach penguin colony |
R245 |
R120 |
| Both gates together |
R760 |
R370 |
SANParks conservation fees for international visitors, valid from 1 November 2025 to 31 October 2026. SANParks adjusts its fees every year on 1 November; the new rates had not been confirmed when this page was last checked.
Three details are worth knowing before you go. The gates are cashless — bring a bank card for both gates. The private Gray Line tour still quotes last season’s gate rates on its product page; the current SANParks rates are the ones charged. And the Flying Dutchman funicular up to the lighthouse at Cape Point is a separate ticket, listed as not included on the Gray Line day tour.
The only tour on this site with a park fee in the price is the e-bike tour, which includes the Cape Point entry; it is on our overview of every tour, together with the half-day and the private tour.
Route: Chapman’s Peak and the two coasts
A peninsula day runs as a loop. One side follows the Atlantic coast south from the city past Hout Bay and over Chapman’s Peak Drive, a toll road cut into the cliffs above the sea. The other side follows False Bay through Muizenberg and Simon’s Town, where Boulders Beach lies. Cape Point sits at the tip where the two meet.
The Chapman’s Peak toll is included on the Cape Archives peninsula tour and on the Excitement Travel and Tours days, which tells you the drive is part of their plan. The Kenzi and Baz Bus days include road tolls without naming the road, and the other tours list no toll at all — check the itinerary if the coastal drive matters to you. Either way, Chapman’s Peak Drive can be closed: wind, rain and rockfall shut it at short notice, and a rockfall on 24 April 2026 led to closures. When the road is shut, tours take another route down the peninsula.
Time at Cape Point and Boulders Beach
How long you get at each stop is set by the itinerary on the product page, and it is worth reading before you book. As a rule of thumb, a 10-hour day leaves room for Cape Point, the Cape of Good Hope and the penguins; a shorter day compresses the stops. Cape Point and Boulders Beach are at their busiest around the middle of the day, and in December and January, the southern-summer holiday peak, the viewpoints and the funicular queue get crowded.
If the penguins are the reason you are going, look at the Boulders stop in particular: the half-day tour, for example, allows only a short visit.
Pickup and vehicle
The Gray Line and Baz Bus day tours and the Gray Line Table Mountain combination name pickup in their product titles; the Gray Line day tour runs in a 2025 Mercedes Sprinter. The City Sightseeing tour works differently: you ride a double-decker bus with Wi-Fi on board and board it at set stops in Cape Town, not at your hotel. For the remaining tours the product page confirms the pickup area and times when you choose a date.
Which tour fits which traveller
- You want to be collected at your accommodation: the Gray Line day tour or the Baz Bus day tour, both with pickup in the title.
- Chapman’s Peak Drive is a must: the Cape Archives peninsula tour or the Excitement Travel and Tours day, with the toll included — bearing in mind that closures can change the route.
- You like the view from a top deck and a slightly shorter day: the City Sightseeing double-decker at 8 hours, boarding at a set stop.
- You want Table Mountain as well: the combination tours, with the cableway ticket paid on the day and a wind risk on the mountain.
- You would rather travel with your own guide, go by e-bike or keep it to half a day: see the overview of every tour.
!
Before you go
Wind and cold at the point: in summer the south-easterly Cape Doctor can make Cape Point cold and blustery even on a hot day in town — pack a windproof layer. Baboons: chacma baboons live around Cape Point; keep food out of sight and do not feed them. A long day: most full-day tours are listed at 10 hours. Card for the gates: park fees are paid by card only.
★
In short
The full-day Cape Point tours share the same destinations and the same catch: park entry of R760 per adult (international, valid to 31 October 2026) is paid at the gates on top of the tour. Choose by what the tour itself adds — pickup, Chapman’s Peak toll, vehicle and length of day — and compare the live tour prices in the table below.